Is Alan a closet bass player?


Last evening, a friend hired the Lundy supply ship for a party. With an attendant Trad band we sailed up the estuary, past Appledore and out to the Atlantic.
Note the bass player…is it really Alan or an example of a West Country generic type?
Yours truly (Lewis) blowing the harp.

This entry was posted in Eb/Bb saxes, Humour & Techie. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Is Alan a closet bass player?

  1. al says:

    Don’t know about Alan, but if the clarinet player is having a good time – I’d hate to see him on a bad day 😀

  2. lewis says:

    Despite his expression, the clarinet player was a delightful chap with a beautiful woody low register sound.
    I am forced to say something nice about banjos…when soloing, the bass could not be heard and I relied on the cutting through of the banjo to tell me where I was in the sequence.

  3. Gandalfe says:

    To the Alantic? Sounds like a bumpy ride to me. :o)

  4. lewis says:

    Well…not very far out into the Atlantic. Around the “Fairway Buoy”, the start of the Atlantic, and a rapid return. 🙂

  5. al says:

    As everyone seems to be ‘below deck’ – wouldn’t it have been easier/cheaper/drier/warmer/safer to have just booked a room in the local pub ? Love the natty titfer tho’…

    (Gandalfe, ‘titfer’ is cockney rhyming slang, ‘titfer tat’ = ‘hat’)

  6. lewis says:

    Alan. Surely, if you want easier/cheaper/drier/warmer/safer, you stay at home and watch television. Being on a boat enables you to have only invited company.
    Everyone knows that the prime requirement of a sax player is to sport a natty titfer…even more important than a Spinal Tap mouthpiece. 🙂

  7. lewis says:

    Sorry Alan; I misunderstood you. The band was on deck, under a metal mezzanine canopy. The punters can get wet, but the band must be protected, presumably on the basis that their instruments would suffer…but who cares if it is the banjo? 🙂

  8. al says:

    Hmmm – is that a nautical term – “metal mezzanine canopy” ? Doesn’t have a ring to it, unlike “the bridge

    Captain to the metal mezzanine canopy…. !” Nah ! 😀

    I seem to remember the Lundy supply ship from the days when I walked the North Devon coastal path in the 60’s (?), a particularly masochistic exercise – looks easy on the map, until you note the contour lines. I don’t think it was the MS Oldenberg in those days, the supply ship seemed to be based in Bideford, and there was a separate excursion ship from Ilfracombe ? On one trip back from the Island (the pub there did excellent Scrumpy), a homing pigeon walked up and down the deck until we got very close to Ilfracombe, and then flew off – conserving energy I suspect, unless, like me, he’d partaken of the scrumpy on Lundy… Always did plan to have a holiday on the island, never seemed to happen, lovely place though ! I don’t even remember Lundy being owned by the Landmark Trust in those days, far too disorganised (happily !).

  9. lewis says:

    I find the pub on Lundy a very disturbing place in that, suspended around the walls, for decoration, are dozens of circular cork life belts emblazoned with the names of the countless ships which floundered on the treacherous rocky shores of the island… This does little to inspire confidence for the return journey. 😦

  10. al says:

    Lewis – you forget that I probably come from a long line of Cornish ‘wreckers’, everybody was ‘at it’ – or at the very least ‘receivers of wreck spoils’. For a gentleman of your means, I’m surprised you don’t take the helicopter to the island ?

    I may well go for a weeks holiday there in the not-so-far future, but we’re talking future years not months… They have some wonderful one-man structures for rent these days, and I could spend the week exploring all the bits I never quite had time to see on day trips – returning only to the Marisco (?) tavern for solid and liquid sustenance. I did check, and because Lundy is now a working farm, dogs are allowed ! (Never saw any in the past) Just me, the dog, and the C-Soprano for sociablility – well, maybe the flute or C-clari as well, a bit of busking to a captive audience might help cover the cost 😀 .

    Found an old Lundy brochure on ebay, jogged my memories, seem to remember it was maybe the White Star (or White Funnel) ship/boat I used to sail to Lundy on from Ilfracombe. Happy days.

  11. Lewis Pelham says:

    Alan.
    So grateful for the reminder and idea. I promised Sandy a helicopter trip for her birthday; she has never flown in one…what better place than Lundy.
    It’s OK to be nostalgic if there is no chance of the times returning. Probably you have forgotten the wind on Lundy…some of the trees are 40 feet long yet only 6 feet high. It is also impossible to grow raspberries because the wind blows them off the plant while they are still green!
    Also watch out for all the traffic…an early diesel (wash my mouth with soap and water) Landrover and an old Fordson tractor. :-))

  12. al says:

    Lewis – I was being a tad facetious about the helicopter, but what a trip, what views ! Excellent idea. I’ve flown in a helicopter over the Grand Canyon, but that was just too much to take in, needed ‘surround-vision’ – whereas approaching Lundy from the air – marvellous ! !

    I’ll probably do my armchair/internet exploration of Lundy until I know just about everything there is to know about it (still finding more…), so if I don’t ever re-visit, it’s still built on excellent memories. If I don’t, nothing is lost, in fact (perversely) disappointment is often avoided.

    What a negative thought, but I know you’ll understand.

  13. Lewis Pelham says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I have a friend, who as an impecunious student, bought an old 1926 Duck Back Alvis 1250. He parked it on waste ground opposite his squalid bed sit. As he could not afford to tax and insure it he watched it slowly decay into the arms of Mother Earth.
    Now he looks back nostalgically and says that it was the best motoring he ever enjoyed…I think that I know what he means.

  14. ukebert says:

    I’m back, but with very limited internet capability. Just to add that a metal mezzanine canopy on a boat can sometimes be called a ‘bimini’ 🙂

    Any news of the Aquilasax C Mel yet?

  15. al says:

    Owen – imminent…. You’ve probably seen the postings by Steve on the various forums. When he starts to sell, I’ll start a new topic.

  16. ukebert says:

    Good good, bated breath and all that 🙂

    When my computer decides that it knows where it’s put the start-up files then I’ll finally prove my authorship.

  17. al says:

    That’s why this is running on a car-boot PC under Win98SE – I know it inside out and can recover from most things (famous last words ?)… If I want to get really sophisticated I head for my Win2000 laptop – but I avoid my daughter’s machine, running XP, like the plague ( I know the comma’s and apostrophe’s are probably all in the wrong places, but I’m in a rush !)

    I may acknowledge the existence of Vista by about 2015… Good Luck.

  18. ukebert says:

    I like XP, but 98 is perfectly sufficient I agree. I seem to have bad luck with computers, my last one the hard drive went completely gaga and had to be replaced, and after that it was the turn of the Motherboard… it’s been two yearrs since my present one went off in a sulk, so it’s done fairly well.

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

