Last day of August, where’s it gone…

As part of the ‘moving the workshop upstairs’ exercise, whilst still maintaining a token presence in the conservatory, I’ve started listing all my C-Mels in the ‘classifieds‘. So far I’m up to ten ( click here for the current list… ) UPDATE – 13 – and I’m less than halfway through the pile…… Add to that, half–dozen alto’s and enough ‘fixer’ clarinets to build a small picket fence – I haven’t even started on them yet ! So, to state the bleedin’ obvious – I may well have to let some go. This is part of the the engraving, hidden under the grime, on the burnished gold Conn….  Click on the picture for more great pics !

Conn Engraving

This entry was posted in C Saxophones, Eb/Bb saxes, Humour & Techie. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Last day of August, where’s it gone…

  1. Gandalfe says:

    Suzy is talking about selling some clarinets, six to be precise. I know now is the right time so I guess I’ll have to dust off my eBay chops. ;o)

    Then there’s that bass sax I’m toying with selling. So much to do, so little time. But I love the picture in this post, so I’m kicked back listening to Anjani Thomas do Blue Alert, typing this throw-away piece and looking at that fabulous engraving. Ain’t life grand.

  2. Lewis Pelham says:

    Largest collection of C Melodies in private hands.
    That “Artist” Conn is delightful: were it a Bb tenor it would cost the earth. The huge gap between the B and the bis on Conns is difficult to understand…can the normal human fore finger accommodate both simultaneously? Perhaps we have evolved since 1919.

  3. al says:

    Lewis, I am minded (what a lovely expression) that Steve’s now imminent 2007 C-Sax is – if I understood correctly – based around the original dimensions of his curved-neck Conn, with 2007 design modifications. It would seem appropriate to renovate the portrait Conn behind the published engraving photo in this topic, as it is of a similar era to Steve’s Conn, so I could then compare 1919 to 2007……

    Gandalfe – I’ll swap you six C-mels, three alto’s, plus as many clarinets as you like (loose change…) for the bass sax ! What’s its weight ? I’ll match it with a similar weight of smaller instruments. Ha-ha 😀

  4. ukebert says:

    Nice format Alan, would be tempting if I hadn’t just bought a new melodeon.

  5. al says:

    Owen – I’m photographing three more C-Mels this afternoon (Martin, King, Conn), to add over the next couple of days but plenty more to go… I’d honestly forgotten the ones ‘tucked away’ – out of sight, out of mind. It’s as much for me to make an ‘online inventory’, with pics, as anything else.

    It’ll be interesting when I get to the ‘picket fence’ of clarinets ! Nice Holton Albert C (LP) amongst them.

  6. Gandalfe says:

    Hmm… I can’t see the blog title because it’s white letters on a light blue background. Has this changed recently? I was trying to move from a well-commented post to the main page and had to search for the title at the top to click.

    I’m not getting much action on the bass sax. Two pro’s want it ‘cuz they know what I’ve had done on it, but they have no money and are trying to sell instruments to cover the cost. With over 35 instruments, including quasi instruments like the potato horn aka the ocarina, in my house, I’m not really looking to trade instruments.

    I’m hoping to see the AquilaSax C-melody this fall that I ordered in July. (Note I’m not checking my spelling so I might have some misnomers here and there.) I enjoy seeing updates on the SOTW site–thanks Alan.

  7. al says:

    Gandalfe – I was joking about the trade, I’ve listed 13 C-Mels in my classifieds so far, and still no sign of daylight… If that’s Wade’s old Bass – he’s just published on his forum that he needs to buy one, try him 😀

    Blog colours haven’t changed in quite a while, screenshot of what I’m seeing is below – to change things it’s awkward because I have to look at the xhtml/css/php files and ‘hack’ – no drag and drop, or nice palettes. I’m an old unix guru, but I stopped this sort of stuff when plain old html was king, this new stuff is really structured, tweak something critical and the repercussions are terrible – like going from C to C++.

    But I will maybe change the colours around, it all looks a bit wishy/washy – anyone got any suggestions before I attack the code ? Grab a screenshot (or copy mine) and crank the colours around, send me the results – there must be someone with a good eye for colour out there !

    Ah – now that’s interesting – I’ve copied the source (from ‘view source’) and pasted it into my FrontPage 4/2000 – something I thought was just for HTML, and it works. So I can tweak the colours much faster in that, and then try and find where to put the changes in the blog template code. What I need is for Microsoft to send me a comlimentary upgrade to my Office 2000 stuff – eh Gandalfe ? But that’s interesting, Frontpage 4 handles xhtml ! Wow ! I only ever tried html because it comes up with the default html headers.

    I should’ve stayed working, could have got paid for doing stuff like this…..

  8. ukebert says:

    I can do html and maybe a little javascripting, but thats as far as it goes for me… did you see that Dilbert cartoon about the Unix programmer?

  9. al says:

    I may be an old fogey, I still like html – where it’s all on the page and reasonably readable. With xhtml you can have php and css ‘global’ files, and the syntax is a bit more “cryptic” – too much for a simple soul like me, possibly the “old dogs and new tricks” syndrome….

    Yes, I had a Dilbert cartoon pinned above my desk, if you mean the one where he decided not to apply as it was really for ‘eunuch’ programmers ? Did you ever see the ‘backup lament’, sung to the tune of Yesterday ? We sang that to so many users who felt too ‘pressured’ to ever waste time backing up ! All they had to do was put it on a networked drive (not their local PC disk) and we’d have backed it up automatically each night, but “Oh No”, they knew better than to trust us techies with it….

    Yesterday,
    All those back-ups seemed a waste of pay.
    Now my database has gone away,
    Oh I believe in yesterday.

    Suddenly,
    There’s not half the files there used to be,
    And there’s a milestone hanging over me,
    The system crashed so suddenly.

    (bridge)
    I pushed something wrong,
    What it was I could not say.

    Now my data’s gone
    and I long for yesterday-ay-ay-ay.

    Yesterday,
    The need for back-ups seemed so far away.
    I knew my data was all here to stay,
    Now I believe in yesterday.

    😀

  10. lewis says:

    I simply do not have a clue what you are talking about…rather like listening to teenagers speaking their brand of “English”. 🙂

  11. ukebert says:

    Not the Queens English doncha know…

    An old friend told me his mantra- “there are two types of people in this world, those who make backups and those who wish they had”. I belong to the former, after my own distressing incident a number of years ago.

    The Dilbert cartoon I was referring to was when Wally sees this oldish man with a beard and says: “Wait, those braces, that scruffy beard, that superior smile… You’re one of those condescending Unix programmers!” to which the man replies: “Here’s a nickle kid, go buy yourself a better computer”

  12. al says:

    Owen – I don’t know if it’s true, but isn’t “unix” the plural plural form of eunuch ? .

    This is the other Dilbert comic strip…

    Man: “My boss says we need some eunuch programmers.”

    Dilbert says: “I think he means Unix, not eunuchs. And I already know Unix.”

    Man: “If the company nurse drops by, tell her I said ‘never mind…'”

  13. al says:

    Gandalfe – re: comment 6 – I’ve made the “cmelodysax-uk” header a very very dark blue, bold, and increased the font size for better visibility. I’ve stopped short of making it flash 😀 (oh, what the heck, I’ve made it turn red and toggle from normal to italic, when the cursor passes over it…)

    I’ve also tweaked a few other font sizes and spacings for better legibility, and similarly changed things so that links show up when the mouse cursor/arrow crosses them – e.g. –

    a) links should (like the heading) now turn deep red and go to italic when ‘hovered over’, to make them more obvious as ‘clickable’ links – all subject to the limitations of some browsers – slight differences between how various versions of Explorer, Firefox and Opera display this, I’ll try and sort out the vagaries (given time…) and,

    b) ‘recently visited’ topic titles now turn to a slightly paler blue, than the normal dark blue, again, subject to browser limitations…. I sense that the colours are going thro’ (like Conn) a ‘transitional’ phase….

    c) I’ve also change the code so that any pictures with links will highlight with a ‘red box’ outline when the mouse crosses them… Time for sleep, but as an xhtml learning curve, it’s great.

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

