Thought I’d just fly the Cornish Flag!

OK, the flag is slightly out-of-line with the post, but that’s technology… 😦
Kernow is reborn If you visit the website, click on the Red Cross/White flag (St George’s) to read it in English – or the Black Cornish flag (like the one here) to read it in Cornish !

This entry was posted in Dorset life, Humour & Techie. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Thought I’d just fly the Cornish Flag!

  1. Lewis Pelham says:

    We have Cornish friends who genuinely believe that it is a separate country….like Wales. They talk of going to England when they cross the Tamar river.
    The coast is very windy; the trees in their garden are eight feet high yet thirty feet long! The raspberries blow off the bush while they are still green.
    Lovely coastline, with dramatic old ruins of tin mine workings, but inland seem to be dominated by corrugated iron sheds.
    We too, in the adjoining county, Devon, also have a flag; but it is not displayed with the same fervour and national pride as Cornwall. We find the Corns to be rather odd.

  2. Lewis Pelham says:

    Forgot to mention that they are aggressively proud of their silly language…like the Welsh.
    Cornish is the only language that one learns to speak to fewer people.
    Learn Spanish and you can speak to half the world.
    Learning Cornish enables you to speak to four people in Pentrehallion…all of whom would understand you better if you spoke English.

  3. alan says:

    Yes, I should admit to being Cornish on my Mum’s side, but Devon on my Dad’s – and the Cornish side was only ten miles from the Tamar border – bit like the English version of the TexMex…. I think the Cornish ‘revival’ is partially fired up by the growth of Welsh speaking, but actual fluent Cornish speakers are an even smaller minority (as a percentage) than C Melody Sax players 🙂

    But then it keeps them off the subjects of Grockels, Emmetts, Liberalism and in-breeding ! “Corns” ? “Cornwallians” or “Janners” please !

  4. Lewis Pelham says:

    The Corns are very similar to the Welsh…their countries must have been joined at some stage. I believe that “Ty Gwyn” is both Welsh and Cornish for White House.
    I too should now admit that I am Welsh on my Mother’s side…hence my Christian name; better than Llewellyn or Meredith I suppose. 🙂

  5. ukebert says:

    I do have some south coast in me, but I think it’s Hampshire rather than Cornwall. And my name does suggest a certain amount of welsh blood, 1/8th to be precise.

  6. ukebert says:

    All right I give up. Go to this website.

  7. Lewis Pelham says:

    Where do you live now Owen?
    From your musical tastes I would imagine that you would fit well into Cornwall…lots of straggly beards, strange instruments in a copious variety of Folkie bands…some chaps even with bells around their knees! Living in the next county I would hope that your bell ringing would not reach me. 🙂

  8. alan says:

    Owen – was ‘6’ a stunned silence…?… Lewis, I too have Welsh blood, not a lot, but a little bit of me is Pembroke. Sigh… 😦 There was a lot of interchange between Cornwall and Wales in the mining heydays, and the Marines. I’m not suggesting that the average Janner rowed his coracle (weighted down with pasties…) past Lundy on the way to work in Wales each day !

    I just love this snippet from the internet – “…while the English saw the Irish Celt as a ‘dangerous savage’, and the Welsh Celt as a. ‘noble savage’, the Cornish were merely ‘pleasantly primitive’…” Nothing much has changed there, then… 😉

  9. ukebert says:

    Number 6 was my attempt to load an image, which for some reason didn’t work. So I posted a lik instead.

    And you ask where I live, do you not recognise the flag of St Alban? 😉

  10. alan says:

    Owen – So you posted a ‘lik’, huh ? I’ve just put the flag in for you. Does this blog show “Edit This” at the bottom of any of your comments, after the Comment date & time ? Like this –

    If it does, then you can go back in again and the second time you get an editor to put in links and images easily, plus bold, italics etc. Let me know if you don’t have “Edit This”, and I’ll see if there’s any way I can change your status so you can edit it… (Hopefully done, see next comment…)

  11. yingtong says:

    just a test of editing, for Owen…

    Owen – you probably now have ‘editing’ rights – please only edit your own posts and comments.

  12. Lewis Pelham says:

    Owen.
    Snalbans is a pleasant town; nearly bought some old almshouses in which to convert & live, during the 60s.
    Did not realise that they had their own flag…I wonder why. I believe that Snalban was the first saint…whatever that means.

  13. ukebert says:

    Excellent, thanks Alan.

    Do you mean the Pemberton Almshouses Lewis? I walk past them every day on my way to work. The street that they face onto is a little congested, I live on a side street nearby. And yes, St Albans does have it’s own flag, although the flag was also used as the flag of the Kingdom of Mercia. St Alban was the first English Martyr, which means he was careless enough to get himself killed for believing in Christianity, which is odd, a simple “No I do not” would have saved him from getting his head chopped off.

    And I am pleased to say that I do say St Albans rather than Snorbans 😉

  14. Lewis Pelham says:

    Owen.
    I used the expression Snolbans because that is the way most of the inhabitants pronounce it. Good for you with the correct pronunciation.
    Not certain what the almshouses were called but they were on the left, around a right hand bend where the road dropped down to the church(cathedral?). They were semi derelict and architecturally attractive….only snag was that they were council owned…all negotiations therefore tied up with impossible red tape…Pale men named Nigel in cheap suits and no taste who would prefer to pull them down & erect an excrescence of a supermarket. Grrr.

  15. ukebert says:

    These ones Lewis?

    EDIT: It worked!

  16. Lewis Pelham says:

    No Owen. I was chasing a group of three tiny late Georgian houses on a bend, which had not been built specifically as alms houses but had been used as such at some time in their history.
    Coming from London I seem to remember a set of traffic lights by an hotel called The Peacock??; turn left and the A5 bears to the right, downhill, to a big church (probably noisy bells 🙂 ). The little houses were on the right hand bend….probably a MacDonalds now.

  17. Ross Challender says:

    Back to Cornwall! My wife and I watched an episode of “Doc Martin” tonight.
    Thanks to Alan I was able to point out that the little pennant flags on a
    street stall were actually miniatures of the Cornwall flag.
    Knowledge is power!

  18. alan says:

    Ross – it really is a ‘small world’ these days – Doc Martin is a very funny series but sadly doen’t really bear any relationship to typical Cornish village life these days.

    In reality, the few remaining locals would be thoroughly miserable, from wading knee-deep through the bodies of tourists ( aka Grockels or Emmetts ), most of the houses would be expensive under-utilised holiday ‘second-homes’, and the nearest doctor would be many miles away in a Community Health Centre – looking like a cross between a Pizza Hut and an overgrown Portacabin, where you see a different Doctor every time – after waiting days for an appointment… And with only one major Hospital in the whole of Cornwall (at Truro), a long thin county, you could easily die waiting for (or in) an ambulance.

    The local Shop / Post Office would also have been closed many moons ago, declared unprofitable. The pub may just still exist, desperately relying on Summer trade to keep it going for the locals thro’ the bleak Winter. I’ll stop now before I get nostalgic for the village life that I knew in the 50’s and 60’s 😦 It was not unlike the current Doc Martin series, strangely…

    That’s why I now live in Dorset, not quite gone the same way (yet…)

  19. ukebert says:

    I know exactly where you mean Lewis, whether your little houses are still there however I have no idea.

  20. Lewis Pelham says:

    Alan.
    Your graphic description of Cornwall is sadly spot on. I came down to Devon 13 years ago to escape developing a Birmingham accent following my working life in the Motor Industry.
    The utterly delightful local accents are seldom heard, having been replaced with those of London and Manchester….I suppose that, in reality, I have added to the problem of which I complain.
    My grandmother was born and raised in the village of Bantham in south Devon…halcyon days where she had to walk five miles, on muddy roads to school in Kingsbridge…TB and diphtheria were rife; life expectancy was low, the NHS did not exist and the only options for work were agriculture or fishing…a choice of poverty, or poverty with a dash of danger. Those were the days!
    There must have been an ideal window between 1925 and 1935 where everyone lived in Art Deco houses, one drove Figioni et Falashi bodied Alfa Romeos, the local policeman called you Sir and the “sons of the soil” locals doffed their caps.
    In reality Alan, I wonder if an idyllic era ever did exist, or whether we all hark back to the remembered delights of childhood….before they invented hoodies, Health & Safety, cost/benefit analysis, paedophiles, Gay Rights, boring front wheel drive cars and baseball caps…..Hey Ho.

  21. alan says:

    Lewis -on a day when it almost seems like I live IN the sea, not near it, you’ve made me smile 🙂 – thanks !

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

