The C Mel may be a large alto, but…

It is coloured to a vast degree by the mouthpiece. It has been said before, but I have just fitted my new favourite tenor piece, (an RPC 115B), onto my old Buescher C Mel and it is hard to believe that it is not a tenor.
Similar result with my second favourite, a No 11 Rico Metalite, (thanks Alan).
When not playing my old TT, I tend to think that it is vintage & awkward. I am always favourably surprised when I drag it out from under the bed to find that it is pleasantly ergonomic….the low C# key could be in a better place though.

This entry was posted in C Saxophones, Mouthpieces. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The C Mel may be a large alto, but…

  1. alan says:

    Yes – I’m finding out with my ‘alto’ mouthpiece trials, that the alto mouthpiece/reed combination is just that bit stuffier and quite not so free-blowing as when using tenor ‘bits’. I may just have to treat myself to that Zinner Jazz C to try the middle road….

    So – maybe the ‘bigger, bolder’ tenor stuff opens out the normally ‘shrinking violet’ C-Mel ? The bigger reed certainly does increase the ‘welly’ factor ! I probably shall eventually revert to tenor bits, but I have to admit that using alto bits opens out the top end to sounds that I couldn’t easily get before – there’s a real smooth gentleness with alto bits, that isn’t quite there with the tenor bits.

  2. Cristiano says:

    Hi Alan,
    I’ve tried the Runyon C-mel mouthpiece on my Buescher c-mel, and on my conn (M series). It works well on both, while my Ottolink rubber won’t.
    Now I just got a metal Aquilasax mouthpiece that is working well on the Conn, although I needed to go for harder reeds.
    Does anybody have suggestions of tenor mouthpieces that worked well for you on Bueschers and Conns?

  3. Mal-2 says:

    I was talking shop with a trumpeter/bandleader and we somehow got on the subject of C-melody saxes. To my surprise, he actually could name players and recordings featuring the instrument, but wanted to know why *I* would want one. In his mind, they’re all stuffy and "classical". Of course this had a lot to do with the plain pads that were in use back then, but mostly I think it is the fact that mouthpieces have evolved a whole lot since the Roaring 20’s! Now he’s interested in having me sit in on the second alto chair using a C-mel just to see what it would sound like. Of course I have to get one first, but I’m working on that. I’m on the Aquilasax waiting list, but if I can find a nice vintage horn sooner, I’ll buy it too.

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

