Another happy UK C-Melody owner !

One very clean Buescher C-Melody sax, a relatively late model as it had the front-F and half-moon G# key – but obviously needing some t.l.c. (well, an overhaul…) – went off a while ago to a saxophone enthusiast in County Durham. 

Today I received an envelope with the snaps removed during the overhaul ( thanks David ! ) – and what was the response to my offer of something to cover the postage ?

” Postage no problem –  its worth it for the pleasure I have had already !! “

It’s really great to know that there’s another C-Mel out there making someone happy.  I will have to let some more of my ‘pending projects’ go this year, lets hope they all find good homes like this one…

This entry was posted in C Saxophones. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another happy UK C-Melody owner !

  1. david neave says:

    Alan,

    Its great – what a sound . And yes it has been a great pleasure.

    David

  2. Mal-2 says:

    Nice looking horn! Mine doesn’t polish up that nice, and the Front F and enlarged G# touch are both bolt-ons stripped and modified from a Yamaha tenor.

    I had one (not in anywhere near this condition, and no front F or half-moon G#) listed on eBay until just a few minutes ago, but had not gotten a single bid after 5 days (of 7), with a $75 minimum. So, I’ve decided to get it back into playing condition and looking halfway decent and try again. If it still attracts no attention, I’ll figure out something to do with it. I’ll leave it posted at http://sales.mal-2.com but I am not currently actively trying to sell it.

    I bought it cheap and mostly for the case. Sadly, the case smells like an attic full of old newspapers, but it does work and I have already attached new clasps and a handle made of copper wire — it’s nice and strong, and the rings for the handle were intact so I would rather use them than replace them.

    How apropos, my anti-spam word is "buescher".

  3. Lewis Pelham says:

    Strangely, I like the pearl button G# on my TT.
      On the basis that one’s little finger hits the same spot every time, the button can be tweaked to exactly the right position. It’s concavity provides security, whereas the polished convex bar on my Conn New Wonder is a skating rink…the cross hatched bar of the later Conns is even worse, as the high co-efficient of friction resists finger sliding.

  4. Mal-2 says:

    All I did on my 1919 (the gigging horn, not the one for sale) was drill a minimal hole (about 1.2 mm wide) through the pearl and key from the back — something that will not compromise the structural integrity, and can be easily filled by a drop of hot wax if need be. Then I took the G# bar off my Yamaha YTS-21 "parts horn", ground out the back, tapped a hole, and bolted it on.


    I’ve since built my own Front F, and raised the palm keys to my liking (with big "raver shoes" corks under them), and corked the side keys (top AND bottom for the Bb), so I’ve pretty much said "screw it" to the authenticity. It had Teflon and heatshrink on it from the last guy’s overhaul, along with resonator pads, so I suspect authenticity wasn’t high on his list of priorities either.

    However, I plan to keep the recently acquired horn as "original" as possible, except that I do plan to use resonator pads. They might be white, though I haven’t decided if it’s worth shelling out the extra cash for white roo pads or not. I have a fair size stash of pads, but mostly in the larger sizes. I will probably have to custom-order the smaller ones since I’ve been using those up the fastest on my projects. Even the medium-size ones got eaten up repadding the upper half of my Dolnet bari.

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

