Chip Shelton – the first modern commercial C-Soprano player ?

A week back, I think prompted by a comment on a forum about his C-Mel playing, I seem to have found what I suspect is the only current commercial C-Soprano player – have a listen to the “Shadow of Lo” clip on this Amazon page

He’s called Chip Shelton, certainly looks like C-Sop and C-Mel in the picture – makes sense, as he normally plays ‘C’ flute – check out the website – I’ve heard him playing flute before (great player) but I suspect that C-Melody and C-Soprano are a new’ish venture ?

I’m having problems contacting him to confirm details, but from the picture (click on it for a bigger one) it certainly looks like C-Mel and C-Sop, and the short Amazon sound samples seem to confirm it – maybe I’ll just have to buy the tracks…  Anyone know anything ?

Interestingly, notice the angled flute head – he’s a ‘vertical’ flute player as well !

This does seem to confirm it, a review of the Imbued With Memories album.

This entry was posted in C Saxophones. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chip Shelton – the first modern commercial C-Soprano player ?

  1. alan says:

    I’ll just mention that, because these topics are also posted to my Facebook page ( I though it’d raise the blog profile… ) Jim/Gandalfe and I are having a conversation about this topic there.

    If you’d like to get involved, click here to comment on Facebook – unfortunately you’ll need a Facebook account to take part.  It was one aspect I didn’t consider, when I set it up – I thought anyone interested would come back to the blog to comment.  Currently investigating whether I can get comments there, posted back to here 🙄

    In case the above link doesn’t work, here’s the full url –
    http://www.facebook.com/posted.php?id=1150429630&share_id=21724479725&comments=

  2. Ross says:

    Shelton may have company on the horizon!
    Like many, I received Steve’s update on a new C sop now that the
    critical number of 100 potential  customers  has been reached.

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

