From Indonesia, a wooden C-Mel ?

Another great offer from Alibaba – and we’re talking about a (dealer/wholesale) price of around $700 each, if bought in batches of ten – so it’s – according to the blurb – a fully working saxophone.  Should retail at well over a grand…

So, for the sax player who has everything – a wooden C-Mel….  That’s what they say, "tenor saxwood in Bbes keys and c keys"and even a wooden baritone !

To quote from the page – "saxwood is the company that produce wooden saxophone handmade. we are from Indonesia, and just established in 2007. saxwood making of alto saxwood in Es keys, tenor saxwood in Bbes keys and c keys, soprano in bbes keys, baby saxwood in bbes keys, and also baritone in Es keys.  "

Nice !  Is the  "baby saxwood in bbes keys" a soprillo ?  Bet they don’t shellac the pads in, all that heat and flames…

This entry was posted in C Saxophones, Clarinet and Flute, Eb/Bb saxes, Humour & Techie. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to From Indonesia, a wooden C-Mel ?

  1. ukebert says:

    I dread to think how it’d play… What were you saying about the 2×4 Alan? 🙂

  2. lewis Pelham says:

    The cases seem half decent…I wonder if they sell them separately. 😉

  3. alan says:

    It’d be quite perverse if the cases weren’t made out of wood ! 😆

  4. totalsuper says:

    To quote Spock: “Totally bizarre.” A completely wooden saxophone? I’d say now I’ve seen everything but the world keeps pumping out more oddities like this to ever say it again. They should send one to the Ripley’s Museum and one to me!

  5. Brian Bauer says:

    I would love to hear a sound sample of the wooden saxophones. Perhaps they sound closer to a clarinet. I would be cautious about buying one, as the manufacturing may not have close enough tolerances to produce good intonation. Nonetheless, I have often thought of the concept and hope these are well-built.8O

  6. Mal-2 says:

    I am guessing the soprano will sound somewhat like a modern tarogato (not the historical double reed), which is essentially a soprano sax with clarinet-size holes, and made of wood. It will be interesting to find which has more importance, the sax-sized tone holes, or the wooden body. I also would like to know the cone angle and how it compares to a typical (metal) sax, but I doubt they are eager to divulge that information.

  7. Helen says:

    I recently wrote a blog post where I mentioned not only the Saxwood brand of wooden saxes, but also the one built by Mr. Sawad Dejprakune, that is sold through Thaitradder.com.  

    If you check out the Saxwood video page, you’ll hear all you need to. My personal fave is still the baritone on the American anthem. 👿

    The video on the Thaitradder.com site on the other hand, leaves more room for optimism, but it doesn’t look like they make a C-pitched horn. However on the other hand, at least this one plays!
     

  8. Eric says:

    Very interesting- I suspect it’s an instrument you’ve got to get used to- and have large hands to play.  The sound wasn’t bad- might be a good instrument with some tweaking. Might be fun to see if they could make up a straight alto- turn the whole thing on a lathe.

  9. Alan says:

    Interesting to hear them play, I quite like the last baritone sample on page 2 – despite the obvious struggle with the action, at times it bears a remarkable resemblance to the sound of my old clarinet teachers bassoon 😀  .  I notice some bits of the mechanism are metal – to be expected.

    (Helen, sorry – your first post got held for moderation because the spam software got worried by the number of links in it – so I’ve ‘upped’ the bar a littleThanks for the link to the sounds, surprised they play reasonable well ! )

  10. Helen says:

    No worries about my comment being held. I would expect that. I’ve got mine set for spam control as well, so I understand. If I didn’t I’d be weeding through hundreds of spam comments daily. (I’m not exaggerating! I mean hundreds. It’s awful!:P )

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

