What New Year Resolutions ?

I’m glad that someone else agrees with me that it’s futile to continually make New Year Resolutions, but slightly nervous that it’s the mental health charity, Mind (..click here for the article..)

Mind you, I do agree with most of their alternatives –

a) Being active – exercise releases endorphins and even a gentle stroll is beneficial for mental well-being
b) Going green – evidence has shown that connecting with nature can boost moods
c) Learn something new – it will keep minds stimulated and give confidence
d) Give back to the community – it can be just as rewarding for you as those you choose to help

I’ll add to that – making as much music as I can, maybe that can be construed as ‘giving back to the community‘, spending more time with the people I really enjoy being with (and much less with those I don’t…), and observing the maxim "a little of what you fancy does you good…"  That’s why I celebrated the New Year with a pipe-full of Alsbo Black, first time I’ve smoked for quite a few years, but it felt good !  Nearly set my beard on fire, but there you go, time for a trim anyway…

Happy New Year to all – possibly not as happy tho’ as for the lucky family who were left a  three million pound Bugatti…

This entry was posted in Humour & Techie. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What New Year Resolutions ?

  1. lewis Pelham says:

    Alan.
    Your New Year’s Resolution should be to take up smoking again…fly in the face of “those who tell us what we should do”.
    My resolution is as always…do not make a resolution.
    I do wish that you had not reminded me of the Bugatti inheritance; probably bequeathed to relatives who see it only as money, with the inevitable result that it will languish in a Private Museum. I knew a chap who bought a similar Type 57S Atlantique new, in 1934…he drove it for 3/4 of a million miles….& enjoyed it for the purpose for which it was designed….Hey Ho!
    Similarly, on SOTW recently someone bought a Series 1 Aristocrat which had never been used. His “problem” was whether it should be placed in a crusty museum….Dear, oh dear…I fail to understand that mentality.
    Seriously, my NYR is to learn to play at least as well as Bird. He died at the age of 34, so why has it taken me so long to play not nearly as well?ย  ๐Ÿ˜•

  2. Alan says:

    Lewis – I do plan to enjoy quite a few contemplative pipe-fulls ( or should that be ‘pipes-full’ ? ) in the future, starting tonight… ย There is nothing quite like drawing on a pipe, gently concentrating, for total relaxation.
    When I used to be ‘on the road’, both as a musician and a techie, journeys often weren’t remembered as miles or time, just as a ‘five-piper’ (London to Manchester), or a ‘three-piper’ (Birmingham to Reading) – great for keeping awake as well…
    Of course, these days company cars qualify as a business place – where employees cannot smoke ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. Gandalfe says:

    My only resolution this year is to play more sax. :o)

  4. ukebert says:

    Cars are to be driven, instruments are to be played. No two ways about it.

    My only New Years resolution is to pass the tripos…

  5. lewis Pelham says:

    Owen.
    Tripos? Forgive my ignorance. Is it something known only to the inner circle of a Folkie coterie…or perhaps an”intrusion of bells”ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. alan says:

    Only if bell-ringers use three-legged stools – I always believed that a tripos was a degree course (allegedly because candidates for the examinations originally sat on three-legged stools).
    But what does an ex-Grammar School boy with only a very mediocre collection of ‘O’ Levels know ? ย ๐Ÿ˜†

  7. lewis Pelham says:

    Yes Alan, I did know, but was gently pulling Owen’s leg.
    A Degree which qualifies one to be a Victorian milkmaid!

    PS. It is possible to attend expensive schools & still wind up with a very mediocre collection of “O” Levels.ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. alan says:

    For some reason I found ‘jazz clarinet’ more interesting than physics or chemistry ?ย  Can’t imagine why !

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

