ebay guide to C Melody Saxophones

 Over the years I’ve received hundreds of emails about C-Melody saxophones, some from genuinely interested owner/players, and an awful lot from people just looking to identify/value/repair/sell ones they’ve recently acquired or been handed down in the family. I do, in all honesty, try to reply to most of them (usually in some detail, on an individual level, and trying to avoid the ‘standard’ quick reply) – but it’s getting to be a very time consuming task, pleasurable tho’ it usually is, and a few emails do regrettably fall ‘between the cracks’ as the inbox starts creaking again.

 

To anyone still waiting for a response, I do sincerely apologise – try resending the email, you may be luckier this time 🙂  Of course I often point people to the website Q&A – and other online resources. Useful then to find this  ebay guide to C-melody Saxophones, written by rdkeeney, obviously a C enthusiast.

 

It’s amazing how very much the same information in one article, but presented in a slightly different way to others, can often seem to answer the same old questions more concisely… Thanks for that, rdkeeney, could it be that we’ve met before, on some distant forum, maybe under different names ?

This entry was posted in C Saxophones. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ebay guide to C Melody Saxophones

  1. Gandalfe says:

    His article sez that you can’t buy necks for a C Melody. I thought there was someone, Gloger?, out there making them still. I could be wrong.

  2. Mal-2 says:

    Aquilasax has necks, though the tenon may not be correctly sized (particularly for Buescher). Since these run about $100 plus shipping, I would mentally factor that into the price of any neckless horn. Unless said neckless horn was otherwise in ready-to-play condition, I wouldn’t even consider it. It’s just not worth it — I don’t need a parts horn.

    It is possible to get an otherwise good horn with a bad neck, as I did with the 1919 Buescher. Unfortunately, I had no idea this was the source of all my troubles until I swapped in the neck from the 1923 and found that all the major intonation issues just vanished (aside from low C# still needing a crescent).

  3. Alan says:

    Gandalfe – last time I looked it was just under $700 for a Gloger tenor neck – probably higher now with the strong Euro.  Some astute ebaying/sotw’ing could net three or more complete C-mels for that…
    I’d only buy a neckless C-Mel if it was something really special, and then buy a ‘cheapo’ of the same make for the neck.  Fix up both and you have a backup body- how often have you had a ‘neck failure’ on a gig ?  😆

    And Steve’s Aquilasax necks are then, at around $100, quite easily ‘tweakable – plus you’d have the dimensions for a new tenon if needed…
    If you can find a good repairman who only does what’s needed, as opposed to the ‘sharp intake of breath’  merchants (plus you buy ‘potentially’ almost playable  C-Mels that don’t still have the original pads), I reckon that for just over $1000 a canny lad can end up with a pair of well-working C-Mels.  Less if you can do the work yourself, more if you buy from here with the garbage dollar/pound exchange rate at the moment 😦

    Hey – how come you guys started the sub-prime mortgage debacle, yet the whole world is struggling – did we all buy into the American Dream ?

  4. lewis Pelham says:

    What a gorgeous TT in the heading photograph. Offer me that without a neck at a bargain price & I would bite off your hand.

  5. JonF says:

    No Alan, we didn’t buy in to the American dream. The trouble is, our banks did, and that particular part of the dream is a bit of a nightmare.

    I bought my totally playable, excellent condition and complete Conn straight neck C Mel for £100. I also bought an alto True Tone of a similar vintage to the one in the pic (although in silver and not quite so immaculate) for the same price. Also totally playable and in great condition. Both from eBay. So bargains can be had. The key, I think, is to bid low and if you get outbid, let it go. As long as you’re not desperate for a particular horn you can play a sort of waiting game for a great buy. I reckon that for each one of these two outrageous bargains I’ve missed out on 50 others, but that’s OK for the two beauties I did get for a ton each.

  6. Cristiano von Simson says:

    Alan,
    I have been way too busy with a new job that made me move from Georgia to Kansas in the last couple of months, so I haven’t played much, or surfed the net to learn more about saxes.
    Therefore this is my first visit to your blog. It is very enjoyable, and full of good information, as the old C-mel site.
    I was happily surprised to see a photo of my sax here on the heading of this post.
    Thanks for the honor, and keep up the good work.

    CvS

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

