A new name, C Sax.net

During this period of relative inactivity, I’ve taken the opportunity to migrate my ‘cmelodysax.co.uk’ website to a new primary domain name – ‘ csax.net ‘ Time to reflect that the C Saxophone is capable of being part of the modern world, and not just the “C Melody” sax of the 20’s. There’s also a slight ‘play on words’ as I live on the Dorset / Jurassic coast, ‘C Sax’ sounds like ‘Sea Sax’ – well, I like it !

The old cmelodysax.co.uk address will still point to the new csax.net website, so any existing links you have to my website should still work, and there will also be times when cmelodysax.co.uk will still show in the browser address bar – due to the fact that some of the existing databases like the blog are tied to the old name – but once I nail all the links down it should be showing as csax.net most of the time, especially out on the website pages. I may, in time, migrate the blog to a newer – less cluttered – theme, which will then let me fully change that to csax.net as well, unless I discover a nifty way to techno-fudge it in the meantime.

With all this comes a new (easy to remember) email address, al@csax.net – and, when I’m away from the PC, I have a phone and a wi-fi PDA which both handle emails, so I can pick up emails to the new address on those as well. Naturally, all of the old email addresses will still work for the forseeable future, just like the old links…

And, having a Spring-clean in Autumn, two old linked url/domain’s ( ‘cmelody.co.uk’, and ‘c-melody.co.uk’ ) will not be renewed next year, so in the very unlikely event that anyone uses those, please change over to ‘csax.net’. If anyone ever uses Windows Live Messenger etc., I’ve forsaken my old ‘dorsetdriftwood’ and ‘cmelodysax’ identities for csax@live.co.uk as well – yet more stuff to reconfigure (keeping those grey cells busy, sigh…)

The new name will also herald the move to a wider range of topics here, as – to be honest – there are many more interesting things in life than just saxophones, lovely as they are… Always open to put up topics on behalf of any readers, just email me with details on the links above.

Alan

This entry was posted in C Saxophones. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A new name, C Sax.net

  1. alan says:

    Just making sure that comments are still possible… 😆

  2. Gandalfe says:

    So we’ll get to learn more about Alan? Should be interesting. And you’ll have more topics to write about. I tend to drop things on my blog that I want to have available so that for example; I remember when I bought that camera, started riding the scooter to work and started up the new sax quartet. Cheers.

  3. JonF says:

    More interesting things than saxophones? Are you mad, man? :mrgreen:

    Seriously, I like the new name.

    Jon

  4. Lewis Pelham says:

    Also still checking that I am still persona grata.
    I too may change my name in order to reflect, more accurately, the public’s perception of the typical sax. player….Lazarus “Mainline” Windbag perhaps  😀

  5. alan says:

    😕 Lewis – it’s still the same, http://cmelodysax.co.uk/blog/ still works, all the accounts still work, just that over a period of time ‘csax.net’ will show in the address bar instead of cmelodysax.co.uk/blog…   Google has far too many search links for me to completeley ditch the old address for the forseeable future, so it will always be an ‘alternative’ address, and I have ‘cmelodysax’ coded into a lot of web pages that will need to be changed – they were in need of tidying up anyway.

    Not so sure that “Lazarus “Mainline” Windbag” has a ‘ring’ to it – I spent a short time in Italy where it seemed every musician was referred to as “Maestro…”, that’s nice.  I’ve been called a lot worse  😕

  6. Lewis Pelham says:

    Alan.  Good to see you back on form.
    With regard to the Italian word  Maestro; almost any word in Italian sounds gorgeous….I grew up drooling over the names of Italian racing drivers…Tazio Nuvolari & Eugenio Castelotti for example…..it seemed to me that their names alone were worth an extra 45 Bhp.
    On that subject I have dragged out my old battleaxe Grassi Professional 2000 & have been surprised how good it is. It has spent the last year in it’s case under the bed while I have been dallying with Sam’s Big B….vastly different, but both excellent. I shall gig the Grassi tonight with it’s new SR Tech Fusion mouthpiece….how fickle can a chap be?  😳

  7. alan says:

    Lewis – similar situation here in that whilst I love the modern Orpheo alto and tenor, I tend to have some old (usually Martin stencil) horns just laying about or balanced precariously near the dogs – I couldn’t risk the Orpheo’s like that…

    Anyway, I get as much (if not more) pleasure coaxing a sound – a much DIFFERENT sound – out of the old ‘uns…   Now if I was playing sax for hours each and every night, I’d probably really appreciate the efficiency of the modern horns, but for a quick ‘toot’, the old ‘uns have far more soul and an affinity to me.

    There is no easy answer, oh how simple it was when I only had one of each, sax and mouthpiece…

  8. alan says:

    Seems like I’ve returned from the abyss ( otherwise known as an ‘English Winter’ ) so I’ll just comment to check that it’s still all in good working order…  😆

    Hmmm, the ability to edit comments – for a limited period of time – seems to have vanished, such is progress, software versions move on and useful features fall by the wayside in droves ! That’s why I’ve gone back to a small filofax (pocket notebook) from an electronic organiser, for my personal info – apart from the lead breaking, not much else goes wrong with a pencil

  9. al says:

    And a new colour scheme  😆

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

