Just rebuilding a couple of 20’s King C-Melody saxes

Just rebuilding a couple of 20’s King C-Mels. Quite forgotten how subtly different their mechanism is from period Conn, Buescher and Martin

We Three Kings...


King C Melody Saxophone

The finished article...

OK, I know it’s ‘three kings’ – the brass one at the back is my King stencil, ‘Big Ugly’

(Published from twitter)

This entry was posted in C Saxophones, Tweets. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just rebuilding a couple of 20’s King C-Melody saxes

  1. Lewis Pelham says:

    As I have said many times before, this is the best engineered saxophone that I have worked on. Nothing “in your face” but subtleties only seen when the horn is taken apart.
    One example is the attention to detail of the leaf spring tracks, such as fitted to the palm keys. Instead of the trailing end gouging along in it’s track, it sits above, and upon, a caged hardened steel pin. The spring therefore sits tangentially on top of the pin with point contact & very low friction.
    Were it not for the inaccessible low C# I would have kept both the King C tenors that passed through my hands.
    Apart from all else, what man can resist Double G cups?  😉

  2. alan says:

    Thanks Lewis – hadn’t expected this one to pop up on the blog, seems like the cross posting from twitter is working, in fact too well, two for the price of one   😕   Sorry you commented twice, if it happens again, just comment on one, and I’ll move things around if necessary, confusing, eh ?   It’ll be OK on the night………
    I finally gave up with (eyes going…)  a grand total of 3 complete King C’s, plus one ‘almost complete’ King C (my spares horn), and that bare’ish brass King Stencil ‘Big Ugly’ – so that’s 4.95 King C’s under this roof.
    Amazing what I can find when I put my mind to it, eh ?   With the double G cups at the front, the side G# is really neat, much easier to adjust, and I somehow don’t think it’ll ever stick !  And that lovely octave mech, so functional, but so easy, they’ve almost been made ‘easily fixable’. And they ALL come with front-F
     
     

  3. Lewis Pelham says:

    Alan,. You mention the octave mechanism….what a work of art that is, almost over complex. In fact, I bought cheaply a fully pearled King C Melody….cheap because it did not work. Someone had been unable to work out the octave mechanism & assembled it incorrectly….bargain!
    Take a look also at the G# mech; just wonderful, with it’s “break back” spring mechanism. Attention to detail? Oh yes…..and it never stuck.
    Had it not been for the awkward low C# position I would have kept mine. Pretty bad on all American horns but I was not prepared to have the top joint of my left little finger surgically removed to play the King.
    Another snag is the cost of pad replacement with that extra G.  😀

  4. Lewis Pelham says:

    Your photograph has reminded me of yet another feature…the King has two guide channels for the octave rocker.
    By the way Alan, you said that my first note turned up on “twitter” for reasons that I fail to understand. I try to stay well clear of things that I do not understand….like Twitter & Facebook…whatever they are.

Please feel free to Comment ( your very first comment will be moderated...)

